End of Summer… Spanish Omelette

Hello there everyone, apologies for the lack of posting these past four days, I have been pretty busy out and about and getting everything ready for returning back to school tomorrow, which honestly I am truly not looking forward to.  Although I am grateful that my life will be restored in terms that I’ll have my routine back.

Yesterday was a rather bleak day of non-stop rain. I also faced the realms of shopping with my mum, which 98% of the time ends up us being so drained of energy and almost fainting, dreaming of food. Last night was no exception, and so as soon as we had arrived home we heated up the omelette pan and threw together one of my favourite Nigella recipes, her Spanish Omelette. Wonderfully light but filling, packed with roasted peppers and potatoes. I add a few extra ingredients that Nigella doesn’t use but anyway that’s what you should be doing in the kitchen, mixing things up, creating new spins on old classics or modern creations.

I also treated myself to a bottle of Molton Brown London’s Orange and Bergamot Enriching Hand Lotion yesterday. It is just utterly amazing, I have used two applications, and I can already see the difference, for a person that suffers from dry hands this product is a godsend. It is a tad pricey, a 300ml bottle comes in at £20. Well worth the expense!

INGREDIENTS:

225g baby new potatoes, halved.

4 eggs.

75g jar of flamed roasted peppers.

3 spring onions, finely sliced.

75g grated cheddar cheese.

1 tsp butter.

few drips of oil.

salt and pepper.

1 small red chilli, deseeded and chopped finely.

1/2 tsp sweet paprika.

METHOD:

Turn on the grill and let it heat up while you prepare the omelette.

Place the potatoes in a saucepan and boil in salted water for 15 mins, until cooked through. Drain and set aside.

Take the eggs and crack into a bowl add all the other ingredients apart from the butter and oil.

Add the potatoes to the mix and set aside.

Add the butter and oil to a small heavy frying pan. Add the omelette mix and cook for 5 mins. This will set the bottom.

Place the pan under the grill for a few minutes to set the top and then tip out onto a serving board.

Cool slightly, then cut into thick wedges.

Enjoy,

Ryan!

 

Leave a comment